Progress in development of spam-lists

Since the introduction of my spam-lists library on this blog, I made some progress in its development.
I reorganized the library a bit, changed the inheritance hierarchy of exception classes, fixed some errors and published the package on PyPI. In this post, I’m going to describe the changes and explain my reasoning behind them.

Splitting spam_lists.service_models module

The spam_lists.service_models module contained two groups of classes:

  • client classes for various services
  • classes representing custom host lists

Originally, the whole project consisted of only one module. Later I decided to split its code into separate modules, including service_models, defined as a module containing “classes of objects serving as clients for remote and local spam listing services”, that is: classes representing clients for various third party services and those representing user-made host lists.

Adding more custom host list classes made me think of splitting the module, but I think it would probably have been better to split it even earlier. Although I did not have any preconfigured instances of clients at the time of introducing the service_models module, I think it would have been better to have a clients module already. It would have contained definitions of client classes, and later I would have added instances of some DNSBL service clients to it. At the time I had only one class representing a custom host list, but it would have been put in some different module.

Taking this into account, I decided to:

  • introduce new host_collections module and move the host collection classes there
  • move the client classes to clients module

After these changes, the only class left in service_models was HostList: a base class for both the client and the host collection classes. I changed the name of the module to host_list as I thought it was better for its current purpose as a container for this class.

A better name for spam_lists.utils

The spam_lists.utils module was intended to contain various utilities that could be used by a user of my library to:

  • create composite URL testers
  • create custom implementations of functions and methods responsible for testing URLs or registered hostnames
  • etc.

The usage of a very general term “util” as the name of the module reflected that it probably was not well defined. It ended up containing two classes representing composite URL testers and a class of a dependency of one of them: RedirectUrlResolver. Therefore, I decided to rename the module to composites.

Inheritance hierarchy of exception classes

My project contains a few exception classes, some of them being UnathorizedAPIKeyError, InvalidHostError and InvalidURLError. All three directly extended two classes: SpamListsError and ValueError, which was a bit repetitive. I introduced SpamListsValueError class as a subclass of both SpamListsError and ValueError classes, and I made it a base class for all the classes that previously extended SpamListsError and ValueError.

Fixing errors in a rich comparison method

The host classes of my project depend on the following classes from other modules:

  • dns.name.Name of the dnspython and dnspython3 projects
  • IPv4Address and IPv6Address from the ipaddress module of Python 3, or from ipaddress library for Python 2

Originally, the relationship was that of inheritance: Hostname class extended the Name class, and the ip address classes extended their counterparts from ipaddress module. All the third party classes provide their own implementations of rich comparison methods, so my classes naturally inherited them, although they didn’t need them at the time.

At some moment, I decided to replace inheritance with composition for these classes. Instances of my own host object classes were going to store and use instances of the dependency classes in their value attribute. I was already planning to introduce a custom host list class that would utilize sorting, and for that, my host classes needed to implement __lt__(other) method (responsible for overloading “<” comparison operator), and with the change of their relationship to the third-party classes, they could no longer use their implementations of the method directly. I had to implement it myself, and I did it for the IPAddress class (a base class for both of my ip address classes), but I forgot about it when modifying the Hostname class. I realized it only after writing my first blog post, and I fixed the omission by introducing Host: a common base class for Hostname and IPAddress, and moving __lt__(other) method from IPAddress class to it. I also added unit tests for this method for all of my host object classes, not only for those extending IPAddress class.

At this moment, the code of the method looked like this:

def __lt__(self, other):
    ''' Check if the other is smaller

    This method is necessary for sorting and search
    algorithms using bisect_right. It handles TypeError
    by returning NotImplemented

    :param other: a value to be compared
    :returns: result of comparison as implemented in base
    classes, or NotImplemented
    '''
    try:
        return self.value < other
    except TypeError:
        return NotImplemented

I also had to fix an error in its original implementation: it compared self.value to the other object, not to other.value.

Another problem arised from the ways the __lt__(other) method has been implemented by the possible classes of value attribute.

The IP address classes support only comparison with instances of the same class, and when attempting to compare an instance of one of them to an object of a different base type, the method returns NotImplemented constant. When this object is another type of IP address, a TypeError is raised.

In the port of the module for Python 2, this looks a bit different, but in practice works the same.

The Name class also supports comparison with an object of the same type, but in case of the other object being of a different type, it never raises TypeError, but instead returns the NotImplemented constant.

The return value NotImplemented is handled differently by Python 2 and 3 interpreters: in Python 2, it causes the comparison operation to be handled elsewhere, while in Python 3, it results in a TypeError being raised, with its message stating the types are not orderable.

As you can see in the code, my method handled TypeError raised by the comparison operation by returning NotImplemented constant. It means that my rich comparsion method could not handle comparison for some combinations of versions of the Python interpreter and types of the objects being compared.

I fixed this compatibility error by modifying the code like this:

def __lt__(self, other):
    ''' Check if the other is smaller

    This method is necessary for sorting and search
    algorithms using bisect_right.

    :param other: a value to be compared
    :returns: result of comparison between value attributes of
    both this object and the other, or of comparison between
    their unicode string representations.

    In case of the other not having necessary attributes,
    NotImplemented constant is returned.
    '''
    try:
        try:
            return self.value < other.value
        except TypeError:
            return self.to_unicode() < other.to_unicode()
    except AttributeError:
        return NotImplemented

Still, the behaviour of the method was inconsistent between the versions: when using Python 2 to execute the comparison of an object of a Hostname type to an object of IPv4Address type, the Name.__lt__(other) method of Hostname.value returned NotImplemented value, and Python interpreter handled the comparison. However, when using Python 3, the comparison operation raised TypeError to be handled by my method.

Returning NotImplemented constant in response to an AttributeError being raised also resulted in inconsistent behaviour of my method in different Python versions. Because of this, I had to modify the code again to fix this inconsistency.

I also noticed the docstring of my method was misleading, because its first line sounded like the method was responsible for “other < self” comparison, not “self < other”. I fixed it, too, and the current code of the method looks like this:

def __lt__(self, other):
    ''' Check if self is less than the other

    This method is necessary for sorting and search
    algorithms using bisect_right.

    :param other: a value to be compared
    :returns: result of comparison between value
    attributes of both this object and the other,
    or of comparison between
    their unicode string representations.
    :raises TypeError: in case of the other not
    having either value or to_unicode attributes.
    '''
    try:
        try:
            result = self.value.__lt__(other.value)
        except TypeError:
            return self._compare_strings(other)
        else:
            if result == NotImplemented:
                result = self._compare_strings(other)
            return result
    except AttributeError:
        msg = 'Unorderable types: {}() < {}()'.format(
            self.__class__.__name__,
            other.__class__.__name__
        )
        raise TypeError(msg)

def _compare_strings(self, other):
    return self.to_unicode() < other.to_unicode()

Releasing the project

I decided to publish my project on PyPI, partially because I thought it was already usable, and partially because I already used it in another project, so installing it from PyPI using pip would be easier than using it as a git submodule.

I added a setup module, updated the project’s README, registered and published it in the repository. Although the library seemed to work properly, I knew there might still be some bugs I should fix and improvements I should make before declaring it stable, so I published it as a beta version. I was right: the initial package turned out not to contain LICENSE and requirements.txt files. I added MANIFEST.in file to fix it, and I converted the README from markdown to reStructuredText, so its rendering could be handled by PyPI website. I made a few other improvements and published the second beta of the package: since then, I further improved the README, fixed some errors and published a few more beta versions.

I think version numbers of the project need an explanation: the current version is 1.0.0b7, the first beta version was 1.0.0b1, and the version before that was 0.9. The previous number was result of me realising I should apply a version number to the library. At the moment, I thought I was close to publishing its first stable, “finished” release, with all functionality that was planned for it already implemented and all errors either fixed or still undetected. I wanted to mark such a version as 1.0, so I thought it was reasonable for the last versions before it to be given the number 0.9. After that, I read more about versioning systems, and although I decided to still follow the 0.9 version with a 1.0 one, I also decided to apply the pattern recommended by PEP 440 and the suggestions provided by this answer on stackoverflow. Hence the version 1.0.0b1, with the initial section marking the release of the stable version of the library and the change in the versioning pattern. The middle number is going to change for subsequent feature updates, and the third number is going to signify stable bugfix-only releases. The final “b1” segment signifies the first beta version, and it follows the pattern from the PEP.

I think I will spend a little more time reading the code, looking for errors to fix and improvements to documentation I could make. I do not plan to make any major changes to it until after I release the library as a stable version 1.0.0.

One thought on “Progress in development of spam-lists

Leave a Reply

